Lighting design

In London, the event honored the brightest minds in the lighting industry

Last June 20, LIT Lighting Design Awards Gala emphasized the profound impact of lighting on global environments and experiences, honoring visionary designers and establishing a new benchmark for excellence.

With 180 of the world’s most influential lighting designers in attendance, the LIT Lighting Design Awards Gala celebrated the remarkable achievements of the 2022 and 2023 program winners. The event showcased their outstanding contributions to architectural, product, and entertainment lighting design.

The ceremony commenced with an introduction by Hossein Farmani and Astrid Hébert, setting the stage for a night of recognition and inspiration. Emphasizing the global impact of lighting design, Farmani remarked, “Your presence here is a testament to your commitment to pushing the boundaries of lighting design, showcasing innovative solutions, and embracing sustainability practices with passion.”

LIT Lighting Design Awards 2024
LIT Lighting Design Awards Gala (2024)

A highlight of the evening was the Lifetime Achievement Awards, which honored Patrick Woodroffe for his distinguished career and transformative contributions to entertainment lighting. Roger Narboni was also celebrated for his profound influence on modern urban lighting design and his pioneering work on the concept of “dark corridors.”

The DarkSky organization received the Spotlight Prize for its dedication to preserving the natural night sky. Meanwhile, Mark Stanley, co-founder of The Studio School of Design, was honored for the non-profit’s commitment to promoting inclusive education in lighting design.

LIT Lighting Design Awards 2024
LIT Lighting Design Awards Gala (2024)

The ceremony showcased a lineup of distinguished winners, including ERRELUCE, awarded Architectural Lighting Design of the Year 2023 for their work at the IronPlate Restaurant, and Hydrel, recognized for Lighting Product Design of the Year 2023 with their FLAME Lighting Technique. The event also honored past winners such as L’Observatoire International and Expolight, highlighting their continued impact on the industry.

Other celebrated companies included Raiden Studios Ltd, Light in Space Limited, ambience, Chelline Design, FerryGunawanDesigns, Luminum GmbH, Vivalyte BV, CeeKayEllo Limited, Hoare Lea, Lighting Design International, Office for Visual Interaction Inc., IFI architectural lighting works, PAAT STUDIO, Cia. dos Imaginários, Edison Price Lighting, Steensen Varming, Eleftheria Deko & Associates Lighting Design, MARABA STUDIO, Beersnielsen Lighting Designers, Marco Miglioli ArchiLight Studio, and more.

LIT Lighting Design Awards Gala (2024)

We are truly amazed by the incredible talent and creativity showcased at tonight’s event,” remarked Astrid Hébert, co-host of the event. “Having so many of the world’s most innovative designers under one roof is truly inspiring. I am thrilled that LIT Lighting Design Awards continues to celebrate excellence and brings the best minds together, pushing the boundaries of what’s possible in lighting design.”

The event was attended by influential figures including Randy Reid, a prominent voice in lighting with decades of industry leadership; Esther Torelló, founder of Lightecture and advocate for creative lighting solutions; Mark Major, known for his transformative urban lighting projects; Sally Storey, a leading UK lighting expert celebrated for her pioneering residential and commercial designs; and Katia Kolovea, a champion for emerging talent and impactful lighting experiences globally. Their presence highlighted the awards’ dedication to recognizing outstanding achievements and promoting innovation in lighting design worldwide.


Open full width

Send this to a friend